(Life After College): Jennifer Ollie, University of Illinois Alum

This week Yur Storee is introducing its Life After College series. As a college graduate myself, I know what it’s like to go to school for one thing, and somehow find yourself on a totally different path during or even after college. So we decided to share a collection of post- college stories in hopes to show you that life is full of changes, and you have to just roll with the punches.

Name: Jennifer Ollie
Graduation Year: University of Illinois (Urbana-Champaign), 2007
College Degree: Bachelor of Science,  Broadcast Journalism

 

What did you have lined up after graduation? 
To pursue a career in Journalism as a news anchor.

Jennollie2
 
What actually happened careerwise for you post graduation?
 I obtained a job in Education as a college recruiter for UPS and discovered that I actually enjoyed working with high school students.

 

What’s going on with you as of right now?
Upcoming plans: I will complete my Masters degree in Clinical and Mental Health Counseling in August 2014.

JennOllie

 Special announcements: I participated in the graduation ceremony on May 17, 2014. I’m married to the husband of my dreams, Percy Ollie Jr. who is also an outstanding photographer. I’ve also developed my own not-for-profit organization, Bigger Than Me Foundation, that offers life- skilled based classes for students ages 14-18 years old- on the south & west sides of Chicago.

 

Lessons learned: I have learned to never give up on my dreams regardless of what obstacles came my way. Our lives are truly a gift to bless other people and that is exactly what I intend to do. Lastly, I learned to persevere and gain a love for impacting others and students from impoverished neighborhoods.

Thanks for sharing your story Jen!

Share your college story with us, here.

 

  
Leave a Reply

