(Life After College): Nick Brown

Name: Nick Brown
Graduation Year: 2011, University of Illinois (Urbana-Champaign)
College Degree: Masters of Science, Architecture

 What did you have planned/lined up after graduation?
Finding myself was the biggest decision thus far. Either become the famous Architect everyone else wanted me to be, or take the leap really tapping into my potential of becoming a communicative world changer.nickbrown3

 

What actually happened careerwise for you post graduation?
I took that leap, and it’s taken me places I would not have expected. The struggle is real, and every opportunity is not the right opportunity. When I took that leap, I made sure it was aligned with my goals. Who would have ever thought I would be having a dougie battle against actor David Krumholtz, me and my buddies being flown out to Hollywood for Bacardi, or spending countless of broke sleepless nights on my friend’s couches working on creating an environment for people.

Everyone wants to be successful. I know I am going to be successful, but I want to be a master of my craft. That’s when you get into the categories of the Seth Godin’s, Zaha Hadid’s, and the Kanye West’s. They are not only extremely great at what they do, they are teachers. Everyone is not good at that. I want to own my craft, and make it the best it can be.


nickbrown1

What’s going on with you as of right now?

I’m one of the creatives behind Glappitnova. It’s a festival uniting some of Chicago’s best within my age demographic. They’ve created multi million dollar companies, some are emerging artists, and the rest are awesome everyday people with great insights to share. “The Big Night” is July 16, 2014 at Moonlight Studios. My goal was to alter the perception of diversity within my age group, and that’s exactly what I am doing. It’s amazing to see your personal growth, and for it to inspire others to do better.

Tickets are available at www.glappitnova.com for “The Big Night.”

Thank you for sharing your journey Nick!

Share your college story with us, here.

One thought on “(Life After College): Nick Brown

Leave a Reply

