(Life After College): Aaja Corinne, The Brand

-5

Name: Aaja Corinne
Graduation Year: 2011, Columbia College Chicago
College Degree: Bachelor of Arts, Fashion Studies
Current Occupation: Image Consultant & Brand Stylist, Merchandise Coordinator

What did you have planned/lined up after graduation?
After graduation, I planned to pursue entrepreneurship, full-time, as a fashion stylist.

What actually happened careerwise for you post graduation?
I learned one of the most defining lessons of my life by jumping into entrepreneurship prematurely. I had the zeal, but I didn’t have a solid plan or business acumen. I also had too much credit card debt and no savings, which made it hard for me to invest in my craft as one would need to get things moving.

“Enthusiasm without knowledge is not good. If you act too quickly, you might make a mistake.” (Proverbs 19:2, New Century Version)

Though the next few months would be some of the toughest of my life, I believe the lesson learned from it all was so valuable. I went back to work, which gave me time to allow the vision to grow. It also gave me something to fall back on while I developed a plan to make ends meet. Along the way, my skill of styling developed into a business, and that business has now become a brand. This has been three years well spent, and I am grateful for what came of the experience.

-4
My brand is three-dimensional, rooted in style/branding, philanthropy, and faith. I assist influencers and fashion entrepreneurs in building a relevant and effective brand presence through image to increase their marketplace value. I also empower women to embrace their individuality and purpose through the efforts of my She’s In Color Women Empowerment Campaign, which was created as a platform to bring women of substance to the forefront. I also inspire and motivate entrepreneurs, in particular, through my blog, The Brand’s Journal, and motivational speaking. My intent is to help them understand the correlation between pursuing life’s purpose and business success, as well as the benefits of activating faith and applying Kingdom principles in business.

What’s going on with you as of right now?

-Upcoming plans
Over the next year, I plan to elevate everything to the next level. There will be new additions to The Brand, strategic partnerships, and collaborations. I am positioning my brand for a national platform.

-Special announcements
The limited edition She’s In Color Turband collection is now available at  www.angelamorano.com.

-Lessons learned
There is no plan greater for us than the one God set in motion before the beginning of time. Greatness is worth the wait.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight.
Thank you for sharing your journey Aaja!

Share your college story with us, here.

Leave a Reply

