Life in NY: New Yorkers will risk their lives just to cross the street

I have always been intrigued by the fast- paced life, but these New Yorkers are too fast for me. Slow down…what is the rush?

Every time I’m in the city, I witness so many people running into the streets, when they do not have the right of way, just so they can get across the street. I mean cars will be coming full speed, and these people have no worries…except to get across the street.

Naturally, I am a fast walker, I just like to get where I need to be, but being here has made me the total opposite. Anytime walking is causing me to be stressed, something is wrong. So, now I take time to enjoy the scenery. NY is still very much new to me, so everything I see pretty much intrigues me.

Then, it’s never that serious that I would jet out in front of moving vehicles just to go 500 feet, if that.  That is one NY culture trend I will not be participating in. Don’t accidentally walk in front of anyone, without paying attention, here that is equivalent to just punching someone in the face. It’s like a daily battle between pedestrians and the people driving. I know sometimes you’re in a hurry to get to a destination, but it’s never worth risking my life.

I’m just ranting. NY is always a good time, I’m just capturing all my experiences here.

Til next time.

-Jonnita

Leave a Reply

