Patience taught me to persevere

There is nothing like waiting.  One of my least favorite things to do is wait. It just takes so much patience. Waiting in line, waiting on food (especially when I’m hungry), waiting on people (that’s a real hard one), waiting on things to take place in life, just waiting in general is a task. But, I can say waiting, which ultimately takes patience has taught me that even though things take a long time, it’s okay.

As I was reflecting, I thought about a few things waiting has taught me.

1) Good things really do come to those who wait. This could be in the sense of the process yielding something beautiful in the end, and at the same time waiting has enabled me to grow as a person- in a way that has been unimaginable. Getting through the wait has showed me how valuable getting to the other side is. I appreciate the end result so much more.

2) Patience really is a virtue. For whatever reason, I naturally want to resist waiting on things, but when I actually take the time to wait, it’s not that bad. It’s really not as tedious as I try to make it. Patience is an inherent trait, it just gets tested so often- makes me wonder if I really am a patient person.

3) Waiting has taught me to enjoy life. Beautiful things take time to develop.  I only know this, because I was forced to slow down, which made me pay more attention to my surroundings. In my waiting, paying attention to the present has showed me how amazing things really are, and that they can only get better.

4) Waiting develops character.  I never really knew what I was capable of, until I was put in the position to wait. Those many situations that seemed like they would never end, squeezed out some of my better character traits. I had to unlearn life. This is significant, because it changed my mindset. I became more hopeful, which makes me want more out of life and to work more for what I desire.

5) Waiting makes for perfect timing. I have noticed that the longer I have waited on the things I have really desired, they could not have come at a more perfect time. Most importantly, when I received them, I was ready. It felt like the pieces to the puzzle just fell into place.

6) Patience taught me how to be grateful. During the wait for anything, I have witnessed myself go through a plethora of emotions, and often found myself wishing things were different- basically complaining. I realized that is not a way to live life. That was not living at all; because my desire was to always be somewhere else. I had to learn to find gratitude during the wait through every circumstance. That is living- embracing every portion of life as is.

7) Patience is work. This may be a repeat of everything else, but when I think about it, I really had to put in work while waiting.  I had to make mistakes, learn from those mistakes, apply the lessons I learned, while simultaneously hoping I received the desires of my heart. It is a total preparation process. I had to shed layers of everything that would prohibit me from getting to the other side. I had to learn that short cuts and temporary fixes just delays things.

Stay the course.

-Jonnita

Leave a Reply

