happiness is the choice.

We are 19 days into the new year, and it seems like time is flying already. Of course, life is already throwing curve balls my way, but I think I’m learning to curve the curve balls- meaning not letting the fear of the unknown terrify me.

So, with that in mind, I have been doing a lot of reflecting on how I desire to live in 2015.  I mean really live. I decided that happiness is a top priority for me this year.

Naturally, I am a happy person. I’m always being silly, and making people laugh, but at the same time I get distracted with discontentment.

I think that discontent comes from the fear that things aren’t going to happen the way I expect them to. My life has been a rollercoaster, and sometimes I just want to get to where I’m trying to go.

Since life is so unpredictable and full of surprises, I decided that happiness in all circumstances is the most important.

 

How I am choosing to be happy this year:

1) I am accepting that life really is like a box of chocolates, and you never know what you’re going to get. And that is perfectly fine. Shout out to Forrest Gump for that wisdom.

2) I am finding joy in the simple things. Like, when the sun comes out and stays out all day. I seriously love nature, minus bugs.

3) I am taking myself out of the little box I created. Who told me I was only a writer? I did. **takes self out of box** I am good at so many other things, and doing more than one is okay.

4) I am removing myself from the idea of time. I mean, who really said I had to have it all by 27 or whatever age? Honestly, I feel more alive than ever, because I’m really open to life. I’m learning and growing all the time. So, as far as I’m concerned, I’m winning. I am successful, because I said I am.

5) I am slowing down. I walk fast. I talk fast. I usually like to do things as quickly as possible. I just want to enjoy the view along the journey.

6) I will celebrate everything I accomplish. I am guilty of down playing things I accomplish, because sometimes those accomplishments don’t come in the form that I would like or expected. But, nonetheless, it is an accomplishment. So, clap clap bravo…it’s a celebration (**Drake voice**).

7) I’m letting go of the concept of needing to be in control. Life really doesn’t let you be in control anyway, because things always randomly happen that remind me I was never in control in the first place. I’m just going with the flow (disclaimer: this process will take longer to master, but I will try really hard).

8) Lastly, I am giving up over-thinking. I’m always trying to figure out the beginning, middle and end of something. By the time I go through that process, I’ll have talked myself out of whatever opportunity was in front of me. I’m just taking each day and moment as they come.

9) I’m actually going to explore my hobbies. I always talk about how I like to paint, but I never actually do it. I just want to indulge in the simple things of life.

 

Life is for living, not living uptight.

-Jonnita

 

Leave a Reply

