Retrospection: Write the vision and make it plain

One of my favorite scriptures right now is Habbakuk 2: 2-3, Write down the revelation and make it plain on tablets so that a herald may run with it.
For the revelation awaits an appointed time; it speaks of the end and will not prove false. Though it linger, wait for it; it will certainly come and will not delay

I’ve always been big on writing things down, because I believe that words are extremely powerful. Life and death is in the power of the tongue. Also, I believe when you write things down it gives your plans life. When you think about it, documentation is a way of the world. Businesses, agreements, licenses are all represented through documents. If they weren’t documented, it would be no way to back up the idea.

So keeping that in mind..Before I moved to New York, everyday I would write out what I wanted my life to look like. That included different opportunities I desired, places I wanted to go, everything I really wanted.

Specifically, I remember writing almost a year ago to date that I wanted to write for Ebony magazine. About three months after I wrote that, an opportunity came my way to work with Jet magazine (sister company of Ebony magazine). That was close enough for me. So, I meet with the Editor-in- Chief of Jet, we talk, come up with a plan, and I’m thinking everything is good.

I do my part as discussed in our meeting, and then I wait. The EIC informs me the digital editor will get back to me shortly. Cool. No worries.

Weeks start to go by and I have not received any further communication from the EIC, or the digital editor. Then I moved to New York. As with everything else, I just think, it wasn’t my time.

Fast forward, almost a year later, a good friend of mine sends me a screenshot of someone who needs a writer. I don’t ask questions, I just jump on opportunities. I’ll investigate the logistics myself. Out of pure ambition, I blindly reach out to the person via Facebook, not knowing who she is.

So, I send her a message of interest, then I do a little investigating. And to my surprise, she’s the editor for Ebony.com. I don’t believe in luck, but I do believe everything happens in its own time.

When I say this opportunity worked out perfectly, that would be an understatement. It was like a gift was given to me and all I had to do was receive it. [**praise break**]

The very thing I wrote out almost a year ago, manifested itself. Of course, I didn’t sit around waiting for this opportunity. I worked. Meaning, I just put myself in position. I never stopped writing, or talking about being a writer- I just stayed in motion. That was my plan- to always keep writing.

I was ready.

Even though we can’t predict the timing of when things can happen, the best thing we can do is prepare. If you write your idea down, it has no choice but to come to existence.

Here is the evidence. Check out my article on Ebony magazine digital, here.

 

If you need help on getting your ideas out of your head, check out my beginner entrepreneur handbook, Five Ways to Get Your Ideas out of Your Head.

fivewayscover9

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

